The Wild One – Jessarae

“Every time I close my eyes and wish that I was someone else, you say you love me and you make it easy” – Easy to Love You

I haven’t had much time to listen to music for the last month or so, but tonight, I clicked on the link to Jessarae’s SoundCloud page and was once again pleasantly surprised by his music. I had the chance to see him perform live in January at Music for Hope and got to hear to his newest song, Nobody’s Human, before it was released. It demonstrates how this up-and-coming musician is continuing to mature both as a singer and a writer.

EchoesMusic-Jessarae4-8080

What really impressed me seeing Jessarae perform live is his stage presence. For someone so young–he’s only nineteen–he knows how to build a rapport with his audience and he really belts out his songs. He does have the benefit of nearly a decade of performing with the likes of John Ondrasik, who he sang with at Music of Hope, Matisyahu (another Music of Hope performer), R5 (also at Music for Hope), John Legend, Chris Issak and Stevie Wonder. He recently toured with R5 as their opening act and his next gigs are opening for Plain White T’s at The Troubadour on April 13, and for Pat Benatar on April 17 at The Saban.

The songs themselves are bluesy, some almost soulful, like Milk and Honey. And some of them really rock, like my personal favorite, Wild Ones, which has been used on his brother, Steven R McQueen’s, TV show, Vampire Diaries, along with another of his songs, Follow Me. His style is sometimes likened to a mix of Jeff Buckley, Curt Cobain and the Black Keys. I think it’s really a style all his own. I’ll continue to follow this rising star as he matures and comes into his own. He has yet to disappoint me, and I look forward to his upcoming new songs, in the works now with Alex Da Kid.

All photos by Ramona Ridgewell, Copyright © 2015 Ridgewell Services, LLC. All rights reserved

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

